Is the Stock Market Open on Veterans Day 2020? –

The stock market is indeed open on Wednesday, Nov. 11, which is when Veterans Day is observed in the U.S.

But it’s pretty much alone.

The post office, most banks and many schools will be closed for Veterans Day, as will many private businesses. In fact, the bond markets are closed on Wednesday, too.

Stocks, however, will trade on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and Nasdaq Stock Market at their usual hours for Veterans Day.

The following is a schedule of all stock market and bond market holidays for 2020.

2020 Market Holidays

Date Holiday NYSE Nasdaq Bond Markets
Wednesday, Jan. 1 New Year’s Day Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Jan. 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Feb. 17 Presidents’ Day/Washington’s Birthday Closed Closed Closed
Thursday, April 9 Maundy Thursday Open Open Early close
(2 p.m.)
Friday, April 10 Good Friday Closed Closed Closed
Friday, May 22 Friday Before Memorial Day Open Open Early close
(2 p.m.)
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day Closed Closed Closed
Thursday, July 2 Day Before Independence Day Open Open Early close
(2 p.m.)
Friday, July 3 Independence Day (Observed) Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Sept. 7 Labor Day Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Oct. 12 Columbus Day Open Open Closed
Wednesday, Nov. 11 Veterans Day Open Open Closed
Thursday, Nov. 26 Thanksgiving Day Closed Closed Closed
Friday, Nov. 27 Day After Thanksgiving Early close
(1 p.m.)
Early close
(1 p.m.)
Early close
(2 p.m.)
Thursday, Dec. 24 Christmas Eve Early close
(1 p.m.)
Early close
(1 p.m.)
Early close
(2 p.m.)
Friday, Dec. 25 Christmas Day Closed Closed Closed
Thursday, Dec. 31 New Year’s Eve Open Open Early close
(2 p.m.)
Friday, Jan. 1, 2021 New Year’s Day Closed Closed Closed

Stock Market Holiday Observations

When it comes to the stock and bond markets alike, if a holiday falls on a weekend, market closures are dictated by two rules:

  • If the holiday falls on a Saturday, the market will close on the preceding Friday.
  • If the holiday falls on a Sunday, the market will close on the subsequent Monday.

Stock and Bond Market Hours

The “core trading” stock market hours for the NYSE and Nasdaq are 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. on weekdays. However, both exchanges offer premarket trading hours between 4 and 9:30 a.m., as well as late trading hours between 4 and 8 p.m.

Bond markets typically trade between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

The stock markets close at 1 p.m. on early-closure days; bond markets close early at 2 p.m.

Read More